The Coat of Arms of the Republic of the Philippines


The coat of arms of the Republic of the Philippines features the elements and colors of the flag. The eight-rayed sun of the Philippines which represents the eight provinces which where placed under martial law by then Spanish Governor-General of the Philippines, Ramon Blanco during the Philippine Revolution, and the three pointed stars which represents the primary geographic regions of the Philippines, Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao.

The previous colonial rule is symbolized by an American bald eagle representing the United States of America and a lion from the flag of the Kingdom of Leon (which is now part of Spain) represents Spain. The two countries governed the Philippines from the 16th to the early 20th century.

The current arms, which shares many features of the national flag was designed by the Filipino artist and heraldist, Captain Galo B. Ocampo.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close