The Election of U.S. President Abraham Lincoln

On November 6, 1860, Abraham Lincoln was elected as the 16th President of the United States of America. In a four-way contest, the Republican Party ticket of Abraham Lincoln and Hannibal Hamlin emerged triumphant. He is the first US President from the Republican Party.

The victory of Lincoln, triggered the declarations of secession by the seven slave states of the Deep South – namely, Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, Florida, and South Carolina.

Lincoln led the United States throughout the American Civil War. In doing so, he preserve the union, abolished slavery, strengthened the federal government and modernized the United States economy.

A photo of President Lincoln, two months before he was assassinated.

On November 8, 1864, Lincoln was re-elected for a second term. He defeated easily the Democratic nominee, former General George B. McClellan, by a wide margin of 221-21 electoral votes. Rather than re-nominate the incumbent Vice President, Hannibal Hamlin, Lincoln’s party selected Andrew Johnson to be the running mate of the incumbent president.

On April 14, 1865, five days after the surrender of Confederate general Robert E. Lee, Lincoln was shot by Confederate sympathizer John Wilkes Booth and died the next day, less than two months into his second term. He was succeeded by Vice President Andrew Johnson. Lincoln has been consistently ranked both by scholars and the public as among the greatest U.S. presidents.





Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close